X PROGRAM BENEFITS: Earn 5% back on all eligible purchases, paid in BE Rewards dollars Receive exclusive promotions and checkout with ease Save money on future purchases with your BE Rewards Learn More
Please Confirm
Are you sure you want to delete your registry?
Your registry will no longer be available for you or others to view.


NO. Return to my registry.
Please Confirm
Are you sure you want to delete your wishlist?
Your wishlist will no longer be available for you or others to view.


NO. Return to my wishlist.
Please Confirm
You are about to redeem your BE Rewards.
Once you redeem your reward, your Potential Rewards will be recalculated so that you can continue to earn rewards eligible for future redemption.
This action cannot be undone once you choose to continue.
Please confirm you would like to redeem your rewards.


NO. Return to my registry.

BE Rewards redeemed will expire if unused in 6 months.
Please Confirm
You are about to redeem your Spa Rewards.
Once you redeem your reward, your Potential Rewards will be recalculated so that you can continue to earn rewards eligible for future redemption.
This action cannot be undone once you choose to continue.
Please confirm you would like to redeem your rewards.


NO. Return to my registry.
Share this Baby Registry via e-mail
's Baby Registry
Permalink: http://www.babyearth.com/lists.html?list_alpha=http://www.babyearth.com/lists.html

From: ()
To:
Note:
max 400 characters
Send me a copy of this e-mail

Return to my registry.
Product Reviews
ERGO Baby Organic Carrier

ERGO Baby Organic Baby Carrier Reviews

by ERGO Baby
Average rating: rating (35 reviews)
Why Buy Organic? Organic cotton is produced without the use of harsh chemicals. Instead natural fertilizers, compost and the use of natural pest control have helped make the growing of organic cotton a viable enterprise. The benefit of producing cotton organically, to the consumer, especially our babies, is the softness and quality that only organic cotton can provide. This is one of the top reasons... read more »
write review
rating Submitted By: Louise from Fremont, CA   Date: 06/19/2013
Can't wait to use this carrier! But disappointedly, my baby is below 12 pounds. The instruction indicates that a support cushion is need for baby below 12 pounds. overall, it has good quality.
rating Submitted By: Danielle from NY NY   Date: 10/31/2012
I bought this after purchasing about 4 slings and getting the Bjorn at my shower. My baby (8 weeks now) didn't like any of them, this is the most acceptable to him but he still typically cries for about 5-10 minutes when you initially put him in. Then he calms down and enjoys the ride or falls asleep. I use the infant insert now since he is so young and looking forward to using this for a long time since it lasts much longer than the other baby slings size and age-wise. I realize it is less attractive than other options, especially the Bjorn which is why we didnt initially buy this, but if you get all black it is okay looking and less like a backpack.
rating Submitted By: Jumanaji   Date: 10/09/2012
I love it, love the fabric and the designs. Very comfortable. It took me a while to figure which is the best product and I found it.
rating Submitted By: virginia from phoenix   Date: 08/13/2012
i have tried bjorn, ergo and gemini beco structured slings and this is by far the best (i have 2 now). supports baby's spine unlike bjorn and forward carrying positions (bjorn & beco). easy to remove sleeping baby unlike beco. easy and quicker to put on and take off unlike beco. pocket is nice but doesn't fit much- wish it was bigger. this fabric is super soft and luxurious. the colors are neutral and rich which look clean. comfortable for carrier and carried. fits all sizes of people and babies. im 5'2 and 110lbs.
rating Submitted By: Jessica   Date: 06/20/2012
Easy to use and love that it's organic cotton. A must have!
rating Submitted By: Liz   Date: 04/04/2012
I used to love this carrier, until I asked a few more questions. Although the outside is organic cotton, the padding used contains polyurethane. As someone who buys organic to keep chemicals away from my children and myself, polyurethane is NOT ok. And as far as I know organic cotton is not a chemical barrier, so using chemicals underneath the organic kind of negates the whole organic thing. C'mon Ergo, give us a REAL organic carrier!
rating Submitted By: Jessica from Atascadero, CA   Date: 02/23/2011
My son doesn't like to be set down for very long which makes it impossible for me to get stuff done. But with the ERGO we both win he gets to be held up against me and I get to use both hands. Yay! It is very comfortable and distributes the weight nicely. I can wear the ERGO all day and not have any aching back at the end when it is all said and done. I wear it around the house, in the store, and when we go on walks. The sun shade is also quite useful. My husband also likes using the ERGO. And needless to say my son really enjoys it too!
rating Submitted By: Julie   Date: 01/17/2011
My mom bought the ergo carrier for us because we were going to be moving across the US when our baby was just 2 weeks old. She thought it would make my flight with the 2 kids by myself easier and she was right!! I was able to carry my newborn w/ the ergo and infant insert with ease. He slept most of the time and I had my 2 hands free for luggage and helping my daughter along. Our son is now six months old and we still use our ergo all the time! My husband loves it too now. He uses it to get our son to sleep when I'm out of the house. He snaps it on while he's doing stuff around the house and within minutes our son is sound asleep. I also have a sling but it is NO where near as comfortable for me or for our son. You can tell by the way he fusses and squirms that he is not comfy in the sling. I know I will use my ergo for years and years to come as it is made from high quality materials! Great Job Ergo!!
rating Submitted By: Pamela from Austin, TX   Date: 01/13/2011
I have used multiple carriers/slings and this is by far my favorite now that my baby is 6mths and we have a 2 year old to chase after. Both myself and the husband use it comfortably and feel he is secure while leaving both arms free to keep up with our 2 year old. I love the organic fabric, it is so soft and really feels like it becomes a part of your body. I prefer baby up front where he is in perfect position for cuddling/kisses. My husband prefers to wear him on his back freeing him up to cook or carry our 2 year old. LOVE this thing!!
rating Submitted By: Deb from Naperville, IL   Date: 10/05/2010
I am a nanny for a 2 mos. old. It is very easy to get on and the baby is so comfortable in it. It's worth the money.
rating Submitted By: kate from Los Angeles, CA   Date: 09/09/2010
This is great. Has saved my back and shoulders form the aches & pains of holding the baby all day long. And she loves it. A lot easier to put on than the Moby wrap.
rating Submitted By: Bonnie from Fort Polk, LA   Date: 06/26/2010
Love this carrier. I tried the Peanut, but my baby never did take to it (very squirmy even as newborn). ERGO is easy to adjust for comfort & fit. You feel baby is snug & safe. I have no problem putting it on/taking it off alone, though my husband does. So I suggest practicing before taking it out. You & baby may get a bit warm depending on the weather since you're chest-to-chest. I've worn it for 2 hrs straight & had only minor lower backache (to be expected). Overall, a great investment.
rating Submitted By: Colleen   Date: 05/31/2010
The Ergo is the best carrier out there! Its is soft, light weight, and easy. I have owned baby bjorn, slings, wraps and with 3 kids the Ergo by far is my favorite.
rating Submitted By: Sam from Killeen, TX   Date: 04/14/2010
i bought the cranberry organic for my son and i LOVE IT!!! everytime i put him in it he is a happy boy. those times when he needs to be close to me i can plop him in side and still get things done around the house. its perfect for outdoors, there are times that i have to use public transportation and this is just the thing to keep him close and safe and still have your hands free. this is 100% worth the cost. at first it may seem a little weird getting him in and out and adjusting the carrier but with time and practice it gets easier. the hood and little pockets in the carrier also come in handy. i recomend this to all parents.
rating Submitted By: MVance   Date: 04/14/2010
I have tried adjusting this over and over, I cannot get it comfortable for me. I think it is something I am doing to compensate. That being said I still love this carrier. My son falls asleep every time I put him in.
rating Submitted By: Stacey   Date: 03/27/2010
this is the most comfotable carrier we own, and we have tried them all! we used the insert until our son could hold his head, and now he and I love it all on its own!
rating Submitted By: Chelsea from Alexandria, VA   Date: 03/23/2010
I have a Moby wrap and a Bjorn. While I still love my Moby, the Ergo is so much easier to get on and off. I use it with both my 30lb 19mo old and for my 16lb 4mo old. It's comfortable and I love the head cover/support that snaps onto the shoulders. My husband also likes it better than the Bjorn. Both my boys will fall asleep in it unlike the Bjorn and I like that they're not hanging from their crotch - they're in a seated position. All in all, totally worth every penny!
rating Submitted By: robyn from Fresno, CA   Date: 03/05/2010
I bought this carrier after using both the bjorn and kelty back pack for my 6month old. Both were hurting my shoulders terribly after a day's worth of running around. This Ergo pack was recommended by a customer and then twice more by unknown people. I had to order it. Since then, I have been in heaven! It is so easy on my shoulders and neck, light and comfortable. Baby loves it. It is a little tricky to get used to getting baby in and out of, but once you get it mastered, it is awesome! I have recommended it myself to anyone who has children, and will order one for any baby shower I attend! This product is fabulous and I love it!!!
rating Submitted By: Sarah   Date: 01/26/2010
We tried a sling, a Baby Bjorn and a regular hiking backpack. All of these worked in part, but not well enough to use regularly. It took me a while to finally order this because I figured that if the other carriers didn't really work this one probably would not either. I was so wrong! This is extremely comfortable to wear and my baby actually likes to be in it. l wish that I had ordered this right away and now I recommend it to everyone with children. This is the ONE!
rating Submitted By: Sarah from Pittsburgh, PA   Date: 01/20/2010
Read all the reviews for this product and decided to give it a try since I wanted something that I could throw in a suitcase easily. I carried my son in the Bjorn up to 12mths but the last few months, he got pretty heavy on long walks. I thought a back carrier would be more comfortable. I have only had him in in a few times, but did an hour walk last week and he seemed happy the whole time. My back did not hurt but it seems to make my gait mildly abnormal. I have also used the side position once while shopping. I think it is a good product for versatility, it's washable, and can be packed. It is a bit scary getting the little one into the back position on your own, but it is doable -- especially if you use a mirror and lean forward while doing so.
rating Submitted By: Jennifer A. from Indianapolis, IN   Date: 01/19/2010
I wanted to try this for my clingy almost 30lb. 20 month-old as a backpack so I could cook hands free. It worked but didn't feel very comfortable. Then I tried it (away from the kitchen) forward facing and went, 'ah, this is how it should feel!!!' Not sure if this is a design issue or a body fit issue but it doesn't perfectly as a backcarrier for our tall toddler and his solidly built mommy.
rating Submitted By: Stacey   Date: 11/27/2009
My husband is so excited to use this carrier. our baby hasn't been born yet, but it looks like great quality, awesome attachments, and hopefully the baby will love it!
rating Submitted By: Amy from State College, PA   Date: 10/05/2009
I used to use the Moby Wrap to carry my baby. In anticipation of the winter, I decided to order the ERGO Organic Baby Carrier to make it easier to carry my baby over bulking sweaters (no worry about tying the Moby wrap over the sweaters). I LOVE IT, I wish I ordered it earlier! My baby is 8 months old and loves the ERGO. Plus, the fit is the same everytime. With the Moby Wrap, if I twisted the material or forgot to pay attention while tying the wrap, I could pay the price with too much tension/pull on my back. The ERGO is the same fit everytime. I also love that my baby is in the neutral SEATED position - as compared to the Baby Bijorn - which has the baby hang and can add extra (not needed) pressure on his hips. You won't be disappointed.
rating Submitted By: Mila's Dad from Los Angeles   Date: 09/21/2009
Our little lady loved the ergo baby - while she was an infant. Now she is about 17 pounds, 26 inches long and very alert. She does not like to be held inwards sometimes, which makes using the Ergo kind of a bummer for her. We are going to keep trying, but I think she may have already grown out of it. BUT, we would still recommend it for an infant. We purchased the infant insert and used to go on walks on cool mornings within the first 2 weeks of her being born. The ergo rocked when she was smaller, not so much now that she is almost 4 months old.
rating Submitted By: Keith from Key West, FL   Date: 09/01/2009
My wife and I had used another baby carrier (without a waist strap) and slings to carry our baby since she was born. Now she is 16 pounds and the these options were getting too uncomfortable for my wife (5'2", 107 lbs.). So we were looking for something with the right type of support for the baby and the person wearing the baby. The Ergo is just perfect for us. It adjust to either one of us and the waist strap distributes a lot of the baby's weight off the shoulders of the carrier. The organic fabric construction means we don't have to worry about dyes and other chemicals seeping into her as she chews away on everything. It also can switch between back and front carry, so it grows with our child's changing weight and needs. The side "hip" carry doesn't work too well for us because the strap digs into our necks. We are very happy with the quality, design and price!
rating Submitted By: Karina C.   Date: 06/10/2009
Right when you open up the Ergo baby, you notice the quality of the construction and the softness of the material. We really liked the instructional video versus a piece of paper - it was nice to see the Ergo in action. We have not had a chance to use this product yet, but we purchased it because so many of our friends have used the Ergo and raved about it as superior to other carriers. We are very happy and cannot wait to use it!
rating Submitted By: Annette from Chicago, IL   Date: 05/27/2009
I have a Baby Bjorn Active but decided to get the Ergo because my 4 month old son is alreay too heavy on the Baby Bjorn. Wow. It does not hurt my shoulders at all! I love the comfy fabric and the sleeping/privacy hood. I also bought the insert, but I would only recommend that for really young infants. My 15+ pound baby was already too big for the insert even though he is 4 months old. I carry him tummy-to-tummy with one leg out and one leg inside the carrier crossed indian-style and he is comfortable that way. He falls asleep pretty much as soon as I place him in the Ergo. Great product!
rating Submitted By: C.R. from Columbia, MD   Date: 05/05/2009
This carrier provides great support and comfort not only to your child, but also to you. I actually have a low back condition and my son who is 7 1/2 mo. old and a heavy child (26 lbs), and carrying him around can be tough. When he is on my back in the carrier, I really feel like there is no weight to him because of the waist strap on this carrier. My son loves being in the carrier. When he is fussy, he calms right down and falls asleep. The sleeping hood is great idea to help support his head and neck while he is sleeping in the carrier.
rating Submitted By: Susan   Date: 03/19/2009
The infant insert didn't work for us but now that baby is big enough (3.5 months, holds head up on her own, 13.5 lbs, 24.5 inches)to fit in this we are quite happy with it. Like all of the carriers, I have introduced it to her over time. Put her in it for a few minutes each day around the house before working up to our first big trip outside. I love the generously sized zipper pocket up front where I can comfortably stash my cell phone, keys, a snack, etc. I also appreciate the elastic bands that help keep the extra length of the straps contained. I like this soooooo much more than that other really famous front carrier which I also tried. Baby seems so much more comfortable and secure! I have marked this down one point because I do find it challenging to unhook the shoulder stabilizer in the back with one hand. And since I like to keep one hand on the baby as I unhook this can sometimes be an issue. But this issue might be more a result of my size/proportions than the product itself so I am not sure that everyone would have this same challenge.
rating Submitted By: Valarie from Chicago, IL   Date: 03/15/2009
I really like to buy organic whenever possible, especially when it is something my little man will be snuggling into and chewing on for the next year, so I was glad to see Ergo makes an organic option. So far the Ergo is great - my son fits comfortably and it's fairly easy on my shoulders and back. I will say that in the hip carry position, the shoulder strap really does "dig in" after a while. Other than that, I've been using this nearly daily and we're both enjoying it.
rating Submitted By: nadine from brooklyn, ny   Date: 01/28/2009
Although this carrier is convenient once your child is strapped in, its the strappingt that is difficlt. Not very convenient if out doors and need to take your child out of the carrier and then what I call "reassmeble" Atlhough the video makes it seem simple it is not at all. The reaching and pulling and snapping makes it very difficult for someone like myself who has very bad back problems. Again, once on its o.k. just a bit of a struggle getting it on. The neck strap, the side adjustments, getting your child in, not an easy task; as I am not new to the carriers. I used the mio carrier until my son grew out of it andfounf it to be very simple. Once all sraps are adjusted you never have to readjust, just a quick snap to close and you are good to go. Needless to say, Ergo is the best from what I have tried for toddlers. So if you are going to spend the funds, go Ergo, just be prepared and give yourself extra time to contract it.
rating Submitted By: Liz from Fort Walton Beach, FL   Date: 01/05/2009
This baby carrier is THE BEST! I bought this carrier after trying a sling. My daughter hated the sling from the very beginning. The sling was hard to adjust, hurt my back and did not provide a truly "hands free" ability. I had to keep one hand on her at all times while she was in the sling. With the Ergo I am comfortable going hands free and my daughter loves it. I bought the Ergo when my daughter was 3 1/2 months old. I also bought the infant insert because she already had some head control but not completely. I shouldn't have wasted my time with the insert because she did not need it. I have taken it shopping, on walks at the park, around the house to do dishes etc and just about everywhere. I carry the Ergo with me all the time. It is easy to put on, provides enough support for my back and shoulders, and is comfortable for me and my daughter. Every time I have put her in the Ergo she is happy and content and most of the time she falls asleep while she is in it. Thank you Ergo! I love the ease of using this baby carrier and not having to depend on bulky strollers anymore!
rating Submitted By: Jane Graham   Date: 10/07/2008
With two boys under two I accomplish very little during the day. When I bought the ERGO Baby I figured I would put my 4month old in it to vacuum, do dishes, and cook. Well it work better than i planned, my 23 month old loves it just as much. If one is sleepy and the other is not cooperating I simply put one for a nap and other on my back. I bring it and use it everywhere! Hiking, parties, house work, yard work, shopping, walks around the block, etc., etc., etc. It is so versatile with back, front, and side positioning, it lightens the load for whatever I am doing. I would highly recommend it to anyone with children under the 40lb. weight limit. .
rating Submitted By: Sadie from Greenville, SC   Date: 10/07/2008
I love this carrier. However, even though my son can hold his head up and is ready to rock, he is uncomfortable in this carrier because he is still too small for the position it puts him in. He can't see out, and his legs are in the 'straddle' position. He is four months old...too big and wiggly for the infant insert, but too small for the real deal yet. I can tell that if I wait a couple months, that it will be an awesome carrier, especially since I can use it to tote him on my back as I run after my two-year-old!
rating Submitted By: Willow Lemon   Date: 05/30/2008
So thrilled to see the Ergo carrier is organic! I'm such a fan of everything natural, so this is the best choice for my little baby. The carrier is easy to use and comfortable. I can get my baby in and out without worrying about fumbling with hooks. The organic cotton is safe to touch baby's skin.
0 items
Orders over $99.00 ship FREE!
[add $99.00]


 
BE RewardsEarn 5% back on all eligible purchases! Learn more.